Predictions for Day Four of the Slater Wildcat Classic

Well, we’re past the halfway point of the Slater Wildcat Classic and after last night’s games, I can honestly tell you it’s only going to get better. Here’s what I think will happen tonight.

No. 7 Santa Fe (G) vs. No. 4 Fayette (5 p.m. tip-off): I didn’t see Santa Fe play on Monday, but I heard they kept the score close against Sacred Heart until the final minutes. I’m still trying to figure out how this team lost to Carrollton by 20 points, while Slater won over the Lady Trojans fairly easily. By far, Tuesday was probably one of the worst games I’ve seen Fayette play all year and they’re in the middle of a three-game losing skid. This Santa Fe team is no pushover and I’d like to think that the Lady Falcons will be able to bounce back and get to another consolation final in this tournament. Samantha Reed needs to score 15 points and Ellie Johnson, who has scored 10 points over the past two games, needs to have another 20-point night. She’s due for one. Prediction: Fayette 48, Santa Fe 43.

No. 3 Glasgow (B) vs. No. 2 Higginsville (6:30 p.m. tip-off): I like Glasgow against most Class 1 and 2 teams, but Higginsville’s quickness reminds me of Fayette from a year ago, perhaps even faster. For Glasgow to contend, Dillon Yung would need to have another 25-30 point game, and most outside shots are going to have to fall. Usually in tough matchups, Glasgow does its best to keep the game to a low score — see the first game against Cairo and the Salisbury game. But not many teams can hold Higginsville under 60 points. I looked up the last time I picked against Glasgow in a tournament game. It was almost a year ago today. Prediction: Higginsville 72, Glasgow 60.

No. 3 Glasgow (G) vs. No. 2 Higginsville (8 p.m. tip-off): Ever since the seedings meeting two weeks ago, Mick Cropp said he likes Glasgow’s chances of reaching the championship game in this tournament, and I agree with him. Higginsville has won some respectable games this season, but when I see they only won by six points at Brookfield — a team Marceline annihilated, and Glasgow beat Marceline on the road — I’m not so sure how well the Lady Huskers will hold up against Glasgow’s pressure tonight. Nikki Fuemmeler sat out most of Tuesday’s game because of an ankle injury, but I think she’ll be back tonight. She’ll have to be for Glasgow to win, and she’ll need to have a big game. Can the Lady Jackets get to their third championship game this season? I think so. Prediction: Glasgow 57, Higginsville 50.

* * * * * * * *

Also on tap tonight will be the Harrisburg girls at California. For those who want to tune in to a great matchup, I believe it will be on the radio at 1420 AM/KRLL at around 7:15 p.m.

Both the Higbee boys and girls will play in Otterville tonight at the CCAA Tournament. The boys lost a close one to Bunceton last night and will play Otterville tonight. The girls won by forfeit over Bunceton’s JV last night and also play Otterville in pool play tonight as well.

Both New Franklin teams are back in action tonight at the Keytesville Tournament, and both will take on Marceline. The boys play at 6 p.m. and the girls follow at 7:30 p.m.

About hocosportsblog

I cover high school and college sports in the Howard County area for The Fayette Advertiser and the Democrat-Leader. All views and opinions expressed on this blog are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of The Fayette Advertiser or The Democrat Leader.
This entry was posted in Fayette High School basketball, Glasgow sports, Harrisburg sports, Higbee sports, New Franklin sports, Tournaments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment